[Book] Pride and Prejudice – Jane Austen [1813]

Title: Pride and Prejudice Author: Jane Austen Genre: Romance Rating: 6.5/10 Summary: When two rich young gentlemen move to town, they don't go unnoticed - especially when Mrs Bennett vows to have one of her five daughters marry into their fortunes. But love, as Jane and Elizabeth Bennett soon discover, is rarely straightforward, and often surprising. It's only … Continue reading [Book] Pride and Prejudice – Jane Austen [1813]

Advertisements

[Music] Flower Boy – Tyler, The Creator

Album: Scum Fuck Flower Boy Artist: Tyler, The Creator Released: 21st July, 2017 Rating: 8.0/10 When I heard that Tyler, The Creator’s new album was to be titled Scum Fuck Flower Boy, I couldn’t help but roll my eyes. It seemed that Tyler’s claims to maturity had been far overstated; the title alone reeked of the juvenile edginess and … Continue reading [Music] Flower Boy – Tyler, The Creator

[TV] Madam Secretary (Seasons 1-3) – Review

Network: CBS Year: 2014 Rating: 7.0/10 Even as I type this in 2018, the phrase ‘Madam Secretary’ conjures images of Hillary Clinton – despite her having not been in office for a good while now. I have absolutely no mention of making this post a politically charged one – but the reason I open with Clinton … Continue reading [TV] Madam Secretary (Seasons 1-3) – Review

[Book] Hyperion – Dan Simmons [1989]

Title: Hyperion Author: Dan Simmons Genre:  Science Fiction Rating: 8.5/10 On the world called Hyperion, beyond the reach of galactic law, waits a creature called the Shrike. There are those who worship it. There are those who fear it. And there are those who have vowed to destroy it. In the Valley of the Time Tombs, where huge, … Continue reading [Book] Hyperion – Dan Simmons [1989]

[Anime] KonoSuba (2016)

Title: KonoSuba Studio: Studio DEEN Director: Takaomi Kanasaki Rating: 8.0/10 Every now and then you come across a series that’s just plain fun to watch. It might not be the most innovative piece of work. It probably won’t be objectively superior to its peers. Instead, there will be one aspect of it – perhaps the story, perhaps the setting, … Continue reading [Anime] KonoSuba (2016)

[Movie] Black Panther (2018)

This post has mild spoilers for Black Panther. If you do not wish for certain information regarding plot points from this movie to be revealed to you, you might want to consider not reading any further. Both thoughtfully made and thought-provoking, Black Panther is entertaining but remains bound by genre conventions (7.0/10) The latest offering from the Marvel … Continue reading [Movie] Black Panther (2018)

[Music] 4:44 – Jay-Z

Album: 4:44 Artist: Jay-Z Released: 30th June, 2017 Rating: 8.0/10 For reasons that are not entirely clear to me, I missed the entire build up towards Jay-Z’s latest album, 4:44. Suddenly, sometime in July, I came across an article praising Jay-Z’s latest project and, with a mixture of guilt and anticipation, I played the track that had received particular … Continue reading [Music] 4:44 – Jay-Z